Eid Al-Fitr.

Day after tomorrow  (6th July 2016)  is the first day of Eid Al-Fitr.

Eid in Arabic means ‘Feast’ or ‘Festival’, and ‘Al-Fitr’ comes from the Arabic word for ‘breakfast’, which is ‘Futoor’.

We celebrate Eid Al-Fitr directly after the holy month of Ramadan. During Ramadan we fast from dawn to dusk, but this isn’t your average  Lent fast. You have to fast/refrain from: food, water, anger, sex, sexual images, jacking off, anything sexual for that matter, curse words, medication, music, and you MUST pray all 5 prayers a day. The men (women can go too ) are expected to go to these nightly prayers called, “Taraweeh”. These prayers are really long, and you recite about 1/30th of the Quran each night. For me, this was from 8:00pm to 10:00pm in my local mosque. I unfortunately start daydreaming during these nightly prayers because I don’t know enough Arabic to understand the Quran, nor have I memorized all of it.

Although, the second to last night and the last night, which had all the smaller chapters being recited (The Quran is structured in such a way that all the really tiny chapters are found in the last 30th part of the Quran), I recited all the chapters quietly to myself, and didn’t even daydream once.

Well, that was a little information I thought I would share about Eid Al-Fitr. Next I wanted to talk about clothing and most importantly (for me) MAKEUP. Since I’m from Pakistan I usually wear something that represents my country but with a bit of a modern twist to it. This is what I’m thinking of wearing.

13607977_936669003123093_1543282926_n

What I like most about it is that it’s a pretty summer-y colour. As for makeup I don’t want it to be too over the top. I want it to be simple but looks nice.

Starting off with the Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm as primer (and yes this does work). After priming my face I’m thinking I could use the Clinique foundation (the anti-blemish solutions one) in the shade ‘04 fresh vanilla‘ with a little bit of the Fit Me concealer in the shade number ‘10‘ cause I gotta hide those eye bags and set everything with the Mikyajy Minx Picture Perfect pressed powder in the shade ‘04 skin-tight‘. For eyes I don’t think I’ll be putting any eye-shadow on so I’ll just ‘bake‘ my under-eye area to brighten it up a bit more using the N7 loose powder. As for mascara I’ve been loving the Mikyajy Lash Perfection 22k  for my top and bottom lashes. I don’t want to go overboard with contouring so I might just stick to using the Wet n Wild bronzing powder in Medium/Dark. I’ve really been liking the Rimmel Lasting Finish Soft Colour Blush in the colour ‘150 Live Pink‘. Lastly, for lips I recently bought the Sephora Cream Lip Stain in the colour ‘Marvelous Mauve‘ along with the matching lip liner in the shade ‘06 Rosewood‘ and so far its amazing. It’s not insanely drying. It goes on like a creamy gloss, but then dries to a long-lasting matte stain.

That’s all for now, Goodbye my fellow Earthlings.

p.s  I think Mikyajy products are only available in the Middle East or at least that’s what the website says.

8 thoughts on “Eid Al-Fitr.

  1. It’s so nice to read Eid experiences from a fellow Muslim from another country! I know Eid has passed but in my country, we celebrate for one whole month, so Eid Mubarak to you! Hahaha.

    Thanks for checking out my blog 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not yet.. I’m still looking around for a good camera because there is only so much you can do with the camera on your phone haha x

      Like

Leave a Reply

